Our Reviews

Participant Reviews

Do it!

I'm an environmental studies student so I attended classes at the College of Natural Resources in Punakha. I took classes on soil, ecology, sustainable development, and gross national happiness. I found the classes to be a different style than I was familiar with which was a bit difficult but this was too another learning opportunity for me! The Naropa program classes complement CNR classes well as they provide the students with skills to navigate cross-cultural interactions and to conduct academic research projects. Outside of academia, the student life at CNR is a lot of fun! It is what you make it as there are social outings, lots of opportunities for meals with friends, hiking trails right outside your door, and many temples to visit nearby. The town is small in size and rich in local foods at the market. The student housing can be a challenge as the facilities (such as water and wi-fi) are not always working like we are familiar with in the U.S. However, I found that adapting was a huge skill to be applied and that the value of living in community with the Bhutanese was well worth a cold shower and a low wi-fi signal. There is a lot to say about this program! I grew so much while in Bhutan and want to encourage anyone considering the program to do it! I thought at one point that the cost of the program made it inaccessible for me but because of scholarships was able to go! If you are also doubting your financial ability to attend the program- don't do so without seeking financial support first from your home university and from the Gilman International Scholarship. Here is the link: https://gilmanapplication.iie.org/
Overall rating 
Experience
Program Administration
Living Conditions
Cultural Immersion
Social Life
Health and Safety

journey of a lifetime