Our Reviews

Participant Reviews

Medical Volunteer at St. Elizabeth Hospital, Arusha, Tanzania - with Rafiki Volunteers

Jambo! I am a 24-year-old medical student on 8. semester from Denmark. Program: I was volunteering in Tanzania for nearly 4 months back in 2009-2010, mainly teaching and other cool stuff. When I decided to go back to this wonderful country in 2014 as a medical student for 2 months, I was hoping to find a volunteering organization, that could find me the right placement for my educational level and experience. I heard from some friends in Denmark that some of our mutual friends in Arusha had started something called Rafiki Volunteers. I already knew these great people, but I was positively surprised that they managed to arrange the perfect placement for me, because in some organizations some volunteers unfortunately feel misplaced. For that I am grateful to Rafiki's. From the moment I was picked up at the airport, everything was planned. After a day of introduction to the program, the city and the people I was going to be with during my stay, i started work on the second day. Besides my work, Rafiki Volunteers planned a bunch of cultural trips and crazy fun night-outs, which i enjoyed a lot! My friends at Rafiki Volunteers was always ready to help me with anything at anytime. The Hospital: My work at St. Elizabeth Hospital has been a great experience for me, that I will never forget. The doctors, nurses and other staff, was very welcoming and kind. They all spoke english and all the charts were in english too. Of course they were busy too, which meant that I did not have people holding my hand and guiding me throughout my stay. I was free to decide which wards to be in, and what I wanted to be a part of. I spent my first two weeks starting with morning conference with all staff and doing rounds with doctors and nurses at medical ward to learn about the diseases and their treatments, that commonly presents themselves in sub-saharan countries. After